News and Nonsense

If you’ve taken the time to follow me at all on any of my social media platforms, you might have noticed a few posts about my recent uptick in visits to local community places. Feel free to check out my Instagram for adorable dog pictures (link is in my sidebar) of Dobby the House Corgi as well as my food adventures.

Let me share a little of what I’ve done lately.

This past weekend was full of fun and mischief as I went out on an adventure with a local corgi group in my area. If you are familiar with the company Petsafe, you might know them as the group that makes lots of awesome dog-related products, such as invisible fences and various bark collars to deter unnecessary barking. Anyway, they also create gorgeous dog parks in cities all around the country, and we happen to have a couple dog parks made by Petsafe in our city.

(As a side note, if you’re a dog lover/owner and are interested in getting a Petsafe dog park in your city, you should check out their Bark for your Park competition. You could help win a dog park for your city.)

Anyway, I have taken Dobby there a couple of times now, and he isn’t so keen on it yet. He goes, but he’s more or less like a grunting, disapproving senior adult. He’s going along with it, but he’s only doing it so he can follow me around and make sure I know how much he disapproves.

Last Friday, I had a meetup with the local corgi owners in the area, and it was fabulous. It was full of laughter, fun, and water. Yes, water. You see, this dog park has a great area on the river that the dogs can just jump right in and make themselves at home in the water. Dobby was the only corgi there without a life jacket, poor guy, but considering his absolute terror about going in the water, I suppose it was okay.

One of the other corgis was comical in his attempts to get into the water. He failed spectacularly at swimming and was only saved by his life jacket and his derpy expressions as the humans all laughed at him. What can I say? Corgis are adorable. The best part was that Dobby did finally get into the spirit of things and chase the corgis around a few times. He’s starting to break out of his shell. Slowly.

Incidentally Dobby’s made a friend here at the apartments, and I’m so proud of him. He actually likes to play with this dog even when they’re on leashes! That’s a huge deal for our poor pup.

In other fun adventures, I went to BiscuitFest this past weekend as well. If you don’t know what that is, it’s simple. It’s a festival that celebrates biscuits.

Is there anything better? Of course not.

I dragged my parents along since I couldn’t convince Fernando to ditch work on one of his last days to come join me. Spoil sport. We went to downtown, paid $10 and ate 5 glorious biscuits of our choice. It sounds boring, but those biscuits were amazing. My personal favorite, and the one that won the people’s choice award, was one called “Mama Says Don’t Say Maybe To Chocolate Gravy.” There’s a picture on my Instagram.

But if you don’t want to check out the picture…

Imagine a confection–not a biscuit, a confection–of pure biscuit pleasure with the sweetest, most delectable chocolate gravy sandwiched between the two layers and drizzled atop it to pool in the bottom of the bowl. Then imagine a dollop of whipped cream and a slice of strawberry to top it all off.

Can you say yum?

I can. I did.

Excuse me while I drool a little in remembrance.

I’m quite enjoying participating in community events this summer. Apparently I need to find a few more of these sweets to join in. But for now, I’ll be finishing out my class days in style as I teach my students and watch Fernando learn a new trade in his internship.

How about you? Are you doing anything fun this summer in your community?

– RaeNezL

*Note: I am not affiliated with Petsafe in any way, nor am I receiving any products or services from the company for this blog post. I just like the company and thought I would recommend it myself! Check it out if you want or don’t. I don’t care.* 

Leave a Reply

