I’m Entering a Writer Contest! (And Other Fun Stuff)

So now that I’m looking for a job during the day, I thought it would be worth some of my time to go back to what I’m passionate about: writing. I know I’ve mentioned this to y’all before at least a little, but writing novels is what I’d love to do with my life. If you’ve followed any of my Tweets on the little sidebar, you’ll notice I tweet other authors that I read and get super excited when they respond to me.

That said, I’ve recently come across an opportunity that I never knew about and am excited to share it with anyone else out there who would like to know about a potential contest they can enter to showcase their work to an agent!

If you’re reading this thinking it’s not for you, that’s fine, but I hope you’ll be excited for me because this is a huge step for me in putting myself out there since I almost never do stuff like this at this stage of my writing career.

So let’s go over the facts, folks.

The contest boils down to this:

It’s called “Dear Lucky Agent,” and it’s hosted by Chuck Sambuchino’s Guide to Literary Agent’s blog over on the Writer’s Digest website.

Apparently they do the contest on a rolling basis and change the parameters every time to include different genres and audiences, which I think is fabulous! The contest this time is open until Wednesday, April 9th to all authors of YA fiction who have full-length works ready to submit.

Wish me luck! If you enter, I’ll do the same for you!

If you check out the page, you’ll note that they don’t exactly specify what they mean by a completed manuscript, so it seems rather open to interpretation. However, Chuck has supplied an email for any questions, and I would assume a completed manuscript does, in fact, require it to be at least to an end point in the book where it’s finished.

So what am I entering to this contest?

You’re told by the contest rules to enter the first 150-200 words of your completed YA manuscript to the contest. I started looking at my one complete YA novel and realized that to really have the whole thing make sense I would have to submit the first 225 words because of where the paragraphs ended. That said, I didn’t intentionally go over the word count, I just submitted a tiny bit extra.

Edit: I realized after looking at the contest entry details that they do not consider entries that are less or more than the specified length, so I altered my word count to fit the length before submitting! I hope any of you who submit will make note of that as well before submitting because I wouldn’t want to lead anyone the wrong way with this contest!

The story I’m submitting is a book I wrote back in 2009-2010, called Fire and Ice Bound. It’s probably one of my favorite stories I’ve ever written. I love the book as a whole and intend to publish it someday. I have high hopes it will be worth reading, and even if it isn’t one of the three winners of this contest, I still feel this is a huge step in the right direction for my writing career.

I look forward to seeing how the contest plays out, but even if I don’t go far, I’ll be happy to simply keep working on my two projects that are in the works right now. It’s all worth it in my eyes.

Let me know if you decide to enter the contest, too! I’d be interested to hear how many of you are writing YA and find this contest just as exciting as I do!

– RaeNez

 

2 thoughts on “I’m Entering a Writer Contest! (And Other Fun Stuff)

    • Thanks, David! I’ve got to admit, this is the only manuscript I have completed, but I’ve got another that’s coming very close to completion. Either way, I think it’s a great first step to at least putting myself out there regardless of winning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

