Why Is It Always Sales?

I’ve been looking for jobs for a while now, and I’m going through all the usual mediums. I’ve got my profile set up on Monster and CareerBuilder. I’m using the university career website. I surf the web and check places like Indeed, which pulls job listings from every known area on the web and allows you to search for and view results in their original listing.

My educational background is simple. I’ve got a bachelor’s degree in business administration. I studied general management. I got an overview of all the main points in running a business as well as courses in all the different areas of business: finance, accounting, economics, human resources, information management, marketing, and logistics. I guess going into it I hoped having the overview would make me a more marketable candidate because I could be more versatile.

Now I’m looking for everything from an administrative assistant/office assistant position to a manager-in-training position to anything in between that looks remotely doable. I’m checking jobs that are specialized, like entry level HR positions or logistics positions. I’m trying to leverage myself as someone who can learn quickly and play nice with others.

Does any of that seem to matter?

Well, I suppose it will when I find the right job. (I say when and not if to keep my spirits up since I am rather depressed about it.)

But today as I’m stuck home still sick and trying in vain to get in touch with my doctor, what do I get?

A phone call from a potential employer who has my resume and wants to interview me. That would be all well and good if this was a call from someone who I submitted a resume to. But it’s a company who saw my resume on one of my public profiles.

The company? Oh, they do brand marketing, direct sales, customer acquisition and retention for Fortune 500 companies, really high level stuff, and what we really want you, RaeNez, to do is work in our account manager position.

Follow the link to their website, and you’ll see the career path starts at account manager. Makes you wonder if that means you’ll be starting from scratch with training, a list of cold calls to make and a prayer to the great commission gods for a bit of leniency in your first sales position.

They said they were looking for leadership. I said I was looking for steady income that wasn’t based on sales and commission. They said I sounded like I was good leadership potential for a position managing a few key reps.

Could I come in for an interview, and oh, by the way, the woman who wants to interview me isn’t available Tuesday or Friday, so would tomorrow work?

Yes, because I’ve been down and out with an ear infection all week. Sounds like a great time to go to an interview. Why not. Because I’m certainly not getting any other offers. And it’s not like I can’t say no when they tell me I have to start on commission-only rates and pray to the commission gods that I’m a good sales person so I, too, can rise above the masses to make that amazing six-figure salary that you, too, can make within your first year on the job.

A bit much on the sarcasm, I know.

In any event, I did say I’d been sick and would likely be home again tomorrow for illness. The response? Great! Can you come in at 2?

That bodes so well for employee health and safety…

We shall see, but my point still stands. Why is it that I always get emails from sales or commission-based jobs that want me to come try my hand in this exciting, new opportunity with unlimited income potential that you, too, should be jumping off a cliff to get to? Because, I’m not sure I’m your girl if all you want is for me to make cold calls and tell people why they should buy this brand new product.

I’d likely say something else. “You want this? No? Okay, didn’t think so. Have a nice day.”

Just saying. I don’t have the personality for sales.

– RaeNez

Leave a Reply

