Escaping

You’ve seen this blog, you know I’m trying to escape, you know it’s an escape from the cubed life I live. But what is escape, really?

If we took this bit of advice by Ani DiFranco, we might all live this cubed life with a bit of reprieve and ease we don’t experience currently…

Maybe you don’t like your job, maybe you didn’t get enough sleep, well nobody likes their job, nobody got enough sleep. Maybe you just had the worst day of your life, but you know, there’s no escape, there’s no excuse, so just suck up and be nice. (Ani DiFranco)

There are multiple definitions for the verb form of escape. It can mean: “to slip or get away, as from confinement; gain or regain liberty” or “to slip away from pursuit or peril.” Another definition can be: “to slip away; fade.”

Escape can mean different things to different people, and that’s why it’s such a fluid and oftentimes dangerous topic. To one it means the escape from the daily mundane tasks of life to the exotic, maybe a road trip with friends across the country for a brief vacation where loads of money will be spent and good times had. To another it means cutting designs across his flesh to escape an internalized pain from years of mental or emotional abuse, substituting a controlled form of pain for an uncontrolled one in a way that makes him feel his life can be held under control. Both scenarios are forms of escape.

Both are equally different for each person.

The point may be that everyone yearns for a bit of escape from something. Whether it’s from my life of going to the office with the cubicles that seem endless, the calls so mundane, the voices shrill and unpleasant, and standards unforgiving, or your escape, whatever that is, there’s something we want to escape.

What is it? And how do you do it?

When I was escaping something else, a more personal demon, as you may put it, I escaped to a very different life in a very different world. I went far away to a job I was not suited to, teaching in a foreign country for a full year. And that changed me very much. It also taught me many things about myself, including the fact I would like to try teaching again.

But enough about that. If you’re escaping anything, if you’re like me and trying to escape cubed life, remember that many times the escape is in the little things from day to day. It can very well be the thing that keeps you sane and draws the line between manageable workplace stress and clinical depression that leads somewhere dark and dangerous.

For me, it’s a lot of little things. It’s time with my boyfriend, who makes me smile and laugh and cheers me up in all the right, little ways that I appreciate more than anything in the world. It’s reading lots of books that give me ideas of my own. It’s writing, whatever, whenever, wherever, whether it’s this blog or that book I’m working on or emails and cards. It’s going shopping or getting coffee or visiting friends. I have to make myself schedule these things in sometimes or else I’d go crazy.

They’re my escape.

Maybe someday I’ll write about a bigger, grander escape. But from time to time you’ll hear more about the mundane escapes of my everyday life, and if that’s enough to remind you of a few escapes of your own, that’s more than enough for me.

– RaeNez

 

Leave a Reply

